Manipur legislators sworn in
Manipur legislators sworn in


Imphal, March 19 (IANS) The 60 elected members of the Manipur assembly were sworn in on Sunday.

Earlier, Governor Najma Heptullah appointed V. Hangkhalian the pro-tem Speaker and administered the oath in a simple function at the Raj Bhavan.

Most elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) members returned to Imphal on Saturday evening from Guwahati.

The strength of the Congress in the house went down to 27 from its original 28. A Congress legislator, T. Shyamkumar, had joined the cabinet.

On Monday, the coalition ministry headed by N. Biren Singh shall undergo a floor test.

© 2018 IANS India Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.
The reproduction of the story/photograph in any form will be liable for legal action.

For news, views and gossips, follow @IANSLIVE at Twitter. Find us on Facebook too!

Update: 19-March-2017



© 2018 IANS India Private Limited.
Don't forget to bookmark us! (CTRL-D)
Site designed by IANS